Skip to Main Content
btc

BTC Library

Your Blackhawk Technical College Learning Commons Library

eBook Databases and FAQ

  • Blackhawk Technical College Library Encore Catalog Featured

    Search Blackhawk Technical College Library physical items and online materials including eBooks, streaming feature films and documentaries. 

  • eBook Central Career and Technical Education Collection (ProQuest)
    Best Bet Featured

    Read entire books and textbooks online for a wide range of career and technical education subject areas and some classic fiction. You can add favorites to your Bookshelf, search within texts to find the key terms you need, and highlight the text. You can also download or print out individual pages or chapters.

  • HathiTrust Digital Library
    HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. EBooks are available to read online only.
  • Home Improvement Source (BadgerLink)

    Magazines & reference books on home improvement and repair project topics.

  • Libby/OverDrive eBook Collection (WISCAL) Best Bet Featured

    Libby/Overdrive Academic eBook collection has popular fiction, self-help and career guide books and audiobooks. You can borrow them in the Libby app or in your internet browser like a regular library book. 
    To read eBooks/listen to audiobooks, sign in:

    Click on Sign In
    Select Library: Blackhawk Technical College
    Card Number: your student/staff 9-digit ID number. 
    Use the free mobile Libby apps for both iPhones, Google, and smart phones, but the best viewing can also be done by reading in the browser screen. Any bookmarks, notes, etc. will be saved for the next time you login to read a borrowed book.

  • Open Library
    Requires you create an account to "borrow" eBooks and audiobooks. Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards including every book ever published.
View More Results

eBook Central Support

Watch each video to learn how to:

  • Tab one: Search, navigate, link and cite on the eBook Central
  • Tab two: Read, view, highlight, save and download eBooks eBook Central

Libby/WISCAL Overdrive Ebook Support

Watch each video to learn how to:

How do I use the Libby app?

How do I borrow eBooks and audiobooks in WISCAL OverDrive/Libby?

Topics

Answer

The free Libby App is the easiest way to borrow digital audiobooks and eBooks. You can also use your web-browser to read or listen, you just need to login with your BTC 9-digit ID number, complete instructions are here.

Downloading Libby on Your Personal Device

Libby is available for Android, iOS, Windows 10, some Chromebooks, and in your browser at libbyapp.com.

  1. Install the Libby app from your device's app store. Or visit libbyapp.com in your Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge browser.
  2. In Libby they will give you several prompts to sign in, first click "I have a library card"
  3. Click on 'Search for your library', search for "Blackhawk Technical College", click on the Wisconsin Academic Library Consortium.
  4. Click on 'Sign in with My Card', select Blackhawk Technical College, it will re-direct you to add in your BTC 9-Digit ID Number , sometimes it takes two attempts to get signed in 
  5. ​​Browse the collection, click on titles you would like to borrow or put on hold! 

If you need more help with Libby, you can visit the Libby Help page or contact the BTC Library. 

If you have a device that's not compatible with Libby, you can use WISCAL Libby online to access the same resource and search, read or listen to books via your web browser (Chrome, Firefox, Safari and Edge). 

Media

How to Search for eBooks

How do I find a book?

Find available eBooks and physical books by searching the BTC Library Encore Catalog. 

Topics

Answer

The Blackhawk Technical College Library provides two subscription eBook databases with thousands of free titles for BTC students, faculty and staff as well as physical collections on Central and Monroe campuses. You can search and find all available titles via the BTC Library Encore Catalog.

  1. In the catalog search bar, enter a keyword, title, author or ISBN number of the item you are looking for. If you are looking for a textbook made available by your instructor for free in the library, you can also search your instructors name or the course title 
  2. Click on the search "play" button to enter the search 

  • Review the search results, there are several ways you can locate materials on this page: 

A. Update and run a new search from the search bar anytime

B. Filter the search results by Format, Location and more

C. Click the link to view online materials, this will launch a new page on one of the subscription library databases, you will need to enter your 9-digit BTC ID number to access

D. You can also click on the title to view a description or summary

E. Request items or place them in a list via your library cart, this will require you log-in with your last name and 9-digit ID number

Find physical books not included in the BTC Library by searching and requesting from the WISCAT inter-library loan catalog.