BTC Library
A-Z Databases
Choose from the databases listed below to start your search.
The most frequently-used databases
Academic OneFile provides access to nearly 14,000 academic and scholarly journals, periodicals, newspapers, reference books, and multimedia sources, along with over 200,000 images, 3,300 audio files, and thousands of videos. Easily view content of interest, find content on nearly any subject including physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature.
Search Blackhawk Technical College Library physical items and online materials including eBooks, streaming feature films and documentaries.
Gale Business: Insights provides an extensive collection of business intelligence, combining; Gale reference content with respected business sources and full-text periodicals to help researchers understand today's global business environment. Users can access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles to stay current with the ever-evolving business landscape.
The Career & Technical Education Database is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 790 titles, with more than 700 available in full text of trade journals, scholarly journals and magazines. Research any technical topic, including computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography. Agricultural Research, Computer Technology Review, Law & Order, Nutrition and Food Science, and Printed Circuit Design are just a few of the titles available in the Career & Technical Education Database.
CINAHL stands for Cumulated Index in Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL Complete provides indexing of over 3,800 top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Literature indexed in CINAHL covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and summarized evidence-based resources such as care sheets and quick lessons.
Read entire books and textbooks online for a wide range of career and technical education subject areas and some classic fiction. You can add favorites to your Bookshelf, search within texts to find the key terms you need, and highlight the text. You can also download or print out individual pages or chapters.
Libby/Overdrive Academic eBook collection has popular fiction, self-help and career guide books and audiobooks. You can borrow them in the Libby app or in your internet browser like a regular library book.
To read eBooks/listen to audiobooks, sign in:
Click on Sign In
Select Library: Blackhawk Technical College
Card Number: your student/staff 9-digit ID number.
Use the free mobile Libby apps for both iPhones, Google, and smart phones, but the best viewing can also be done by reading in the browser screen. Any bookmarks, notes, etc. will be saved for the next time you login to read a borrowed book.
PrepSTEP for Community Colleges includes 10 targeted learning centers containing practice tests, self-directed tutorials, microlessons, e-books, articles and flashcards for: college success skills, core math and science and English skills. Includes career preparation, placement test preparation, High School Equivalency Center and a Spanish Center (Recursos Para Hispanohablantes).
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Gale Business: Insights provides an extensive collection of business intelligence, combining; Gale reference content with respected business sources and full-text periodicals to help researchers understand today's global business environment. Users can access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles to stay current with the ever-evolving business landscape.
PrepSTEP for Community Colleges includes 10 targeted learning centers containing practice tests, self-directed tutorials, microlessons, e-books, articles and flashcards for: college success skills, core math and science and English skills. Includes career preparation, placement test preparation, High School Equivalency Center and a Spanish Center (Recursos Para Hispanohablantes).