BTC Library
Allied Health and Health Sciences Research
Library Help
------------------------------
Health Science Research Introduction
Welcome! What You Can Use this Guide For
This Library Guide is for Allied Health programs and Health Sciences research. If you're new to finding free books, articles or other library resources relevant to your program, this guide will help.
- To find articles, click on and search in the recommended databases listed below
- See database search tips
- Click on 'the Ask Us' slide out for live 24/7 research and library help
On the menu tabs to the left, find additional support including the Library Home tab for how-to tutorials, other Allied Health Library Guides and HESI test prep resources.
Find the Best Resources for Your Research
Below are the "best bet" databases for researching within the health sciences, see descriptions for details
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL stands for Cumulated Index in Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL Complete provides indexing of over 3,800 top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Literature indexed in CINAHL covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and summarized evidence-based resources such as care sheets and quick lessons.
-
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free search engine for accessing the MEDLINE database it is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institute of Health, most articles have a full-text that you must link out to a publisher site
Find: articles on Evidence-Based practice, Medical, biological and scientific research articles -
Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowDatabase with over 715 full-text publication titles, and more than 12,000 full text dissertations
Find: articles on Nursing, Allied health, occupational therapy, cytology, histology, physiology, anatomy, gerontology geriatrics and more -
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new windowDatabase with over 355 full-text journals including 287 peer-reviewed journals
Find: articles on a wide range of medical disciplines for researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators