Skip to Main Content
btc

BTC Library

Faculty Guide to Using Library Resources

Learn how use library resources in your course.

Best Practices for Library Content in Blackboard

Guidance for Linking to Licensed Library Collection Content (Articles, Books and Videos

Posting library content such as articles, videos, eBooks and more exposes students to free professional quality content.

  1. Post a links subscription content. Content with a Creative Commons license or is in the Public Domain it is always permissible to upload/embed. 
  2. Update links each semester. Content within databases is frequently updated resulting in a loss of access to particular titles.
  3. Limit access to students enrolled in a course and other appropriate individuals. Linking within Blackboard sites will accomplish this. 
  4. Provide instructions for students on accessing library materials. You can use this library FAQ:

Linking to Articles in Blackboard

A permanent link, also known as a permalink or persistent link is a URL that connects directly to a specific full-text article in a library database or electronic journal subscription. When students click a permalink, they will need to log in with their BTC 9-digit ID number.

To provide a stable and secure link to licensed library content, do not use the link in your browser address bar. Instead, follow the instructions below.

  1. Select 'Permalink' from the database's menu of options (depends on the database used, see examples in tabbed boxes)
  2. Copy the 'Permalink' provided into Blackboard

Proper links usual include: " btclibraryproxy..login=".  or "blackhawk" in the domain of the site. These are 'proxied links', it allows student to access library content off-campus securely, it will prompt them to enter their 9-Digit student ID to view the content. 

Why Should You Use Permalinks?

You can link to an article in a database to avoid copyright concerns, expose students to professional research tools and database keeps statistics about how often it is being retrieved. We use this information when making decisions about keeping or adding journals and databases! 

  1. Click on "Get Link", you can find the "Get Link" button on any page of Gale, so it is possible to link to specific articles, search results, topics and more
  2. Copy the link from the pop-up box into Blackboard

get link button in Gale hilghlighted

Proquest Database Example

1. On the article page, select 'All Options'

All options menu

2. Copy the permanent link at the top of the menu of options by clicking on the link and add it to your course site

permanent link on the top underneath "all save options"

EBSCO Database Example

1. On the article page, select the 'Permalink' button at the bottom of the Tools menu.

EBSCO permalink option at the bottom of the tool bar

2. Copy the generate permanent link to paste into your course site. 

copy the permalink

Linking to eBooks in Blackboard

Share a Link to a Title

Many of the titles in eBook Central allow an unlimited number of users per title and can be downloaded for offline use. Check the availability to ensure that there will be enough copies if you are requiring all students to access a specific title:

availability is stated under the title

  1. Click on 'Share Link to Book' to copy a proxied link 
  2. Copy link from pop-up window

eBook Central title details page

 

You can also use the link button to link to any specific chapter or page within the eBook. 

WISCAL OverDrive offers limited time access to titles for limited simultaneous users, but can be great to recommend to students if they are required to find book sources for assignments. To link to a specific title:

  1. Copy link from the address bar 
  2. Provide students with specific instructions for how to access and use OverDrive titles, see the FAQ below

link in address bar

Embedding and Linking to Library Streaming Videos in Blackboard

To provide a stable and secure link to a streaming video found through one of the library's database, do not use the link in your browser address bar. Instead, follow the instructions below.

  1. Select 'Link/Embed' or 'Share' menu options (depends on the database used, see examples in tabs)
  2. Copy the link or embed code provided

Proper links will include: " btclibraryproxy..login=".  These are 'proxied links', it allows student to access library content off-campus securely. Embedding or linking to these videos will prompt them to enter their 9-Digit student ID to view the content. 

  1. On video page, click on "Share"
  2. Copy the Link or Embed This Video
  3. Please note that the video will not be viewable over Zoom, it will display a black screen. 

on button of video click on share button

Kanopy Video Availability 

Kanopy video licenses are purchase on demand. There is a capped budget for purchasing video licenses that may be reached during the course of the fiscal year. If you want the library to purchase a license, please fill out the form on the Kanopy site, the library will approve or deny the request based on fund availability and our Collection Policy Guidelines. 

  1. On the video page, select the 'Embed/Link' option.
  2. Copy the permanent link or embed code

link embed option below video 2. C
permanent link window will include proxied link

1.  On the video page, select the 'Share' menu

permalink and embed code below video

2. The default menu are the 'Email' options. Go to the 'Embed Link' options, select the Record URL or the Embed code 

link and embed code

Embedding Library Guides and Databases in Blackboard - Library Content LTI

Step by Step Instructions

The Library Content LTI tool allows you to embed library guides and databases in your course, so students no longer need to link out to a different site. 

  • In your Blackboard course, navigate to 'Build Content'
  • Select the 'Library Content' option

buildt content library content menu option

  • Create a name and description and hit 'Submit'
  • Click on the content area you just created
  • From the 'Content Type' drop-down menu you will have the following options:
    • Guides & Guide Content
      • Full LibGuide 
      • Single Page 
      • Content box
    • A-Z Databases
      • All A-Z Databases
      • Databases for Specific Subject + Subject Specialists
      • Databases for Specific Subject (list only)
      • Specific A-Z Database
      • New/Trial Databases
  • Once you make your selections, click on 'Embed Content'. You can then close and review in the 'Student Preview'

embed content button

 

Step by Step Instructions

  • Select 'Add Content' then 'Content Market'

blackboard ultra create content content market button

  • Scroll down to the 'Library Content' option, click on the + symbol

plus symbol blackboard ultra library content lti

  • From the 'Content Type' drop-down menu you will have the following options:
    • Guides & Guide Content
      • Full LibGuide 
      • Single Page 
      • Content box
    • A-Z Databases
      • All A-Z Databases
      • Databases for Specific Subject + Subject Specialists
      • Databases for Specific Subject (list only)
      • Specific A-Z Database
      • New/Trial Databases
  • Once you have made your selections, click on "Embed content"
  • To change the name or description of the content area click on the 3 dots and select 'Edit'

edit button blackboard ultra

  • Use the Student Preview to check the display of the embedded content