BTC Library
Business and Finance Programs
Library Services
------------------------------
Welcome! What You Can Use this Guide For
This Library Guide is for students in the Business and Finance programs. If you're new to finding free books, articles or other library resources relevant to your program, this guide will help.
- To search the entire library collection, enter a search in the Library Search
- To find articles, search in the recommended databases listed below
- To find books, review recommended websites
- Click on 'the Ask Us' slide out for live 24/7 research and library help
On the menu tabs to the left, find information about industry classification codes, additional support including the Library Home tab for how-to tutorials and the Learning Center Tutoring tab for information on getting help with your assignments.
Recommended Business Databases
Select a database from below to find articles related to business and finance.
-
Business: Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale Business: Insights provides an extensive collection of business intelligence, combining; Gale reference content with respected business sources and full-text periodicals to help researchers understand today's global business environment. Users can access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles to stay current with the ever-evolving business landscape.
-
Business Source Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal and peer-reviewed articles covering all disciplines of business for high school, college-level, and adult researchers.
Access provided by BadgerLink, Wisconsin’s Online Library, providing Wisconsin residents with licensed educational content from multiple sources across a range of topics. -
eBook Central Career and Technical Education Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Read entire books and textbooks online for a wide range of career and technical education subject areas and some classic fiction. You can add favorites to your Bookshelf, search within texts to find the key terms you need, and highlight the text. You can also download or print out individual pages or chapters.
-
US Newsstream (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the New York Times. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
Recommended Business and Finance eBooks
-
-
-
Influencer Building Your Personal Brand in the Age of Social Media
by
ISBN: 9780806538860Publication Date: 2018 -
-
The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers
by
ISBN: 9780814436950Publication Date: 2016-03-25 -
Recommended Business Websites
Accounting Standards: These sites provide information on accounting and auditing standards that are regarded as generally accepted practice throughout the United States.
-
AICPA: American Institute of Certified Public AccountantsAmerican Institute of Certified Public Accountants issues auditing and other standards for the profession, most particularly the Statements on Auditing Standards
-
FASB: The Financial Accounting Standards BoardFASB: The Financial Accounting Standards Board sets authoritative standards for the US private sector
-
GASB: The Governmental Accounting Standards BoardGASB: The Governmental Accounting Standards Board sets authoritative standards for US government accounting.
-
Orchard Study GuideFinancial, managerial, advanced accounting, taxation and physics basics and practice questions
-
Public Company Accounting Oversight BoardThe PCAOB is a nonprofit corporation established by Congress to oversee the audits of public companies in order to protect the interests of investors and further the public interest in the preparation of informative, accurate and independent audit reports.
-
SECSecurities and Exchange Commission administers and enforces the securities laws of the United States including issuing rules and releases regulating financial reporting of public companies. EDGAR documents available at this site.
-
BusinesstownFrom website: "BusinessTown covers all aspects of starting and building a business including starting, strategy, marketing, leadership and finance."
-
Public Companies Investor.govThis site through the United States Securities and Exchange Commission covers the basics of researching publicly traded companies as investment vehicles.
-
Ask A ManagerAdvice on career and office related topics from published author and former chief of staff of a large nonprofit.
-
AtoZdatabasesFree site from AtoZdatabases. Provides details on businesses and households within the U.S. The site uses Indeed.com for employment opportunity information.
-
State Law Library of WisconsinIf looking up Wisconsin statutes, the Uniform Commercial Code portion may be particularly useful. Scroll down to Wisconsin statutes & administrative codes, and search under Chapter 403.
-
DePaul Business & Commercial Law JournalOriginal articles for the legal profession about commercial law.
-
Financial Market TrendsProvides you with timely analyses of, & statistics on, financial matters of topical interest or longer-term developments in specific financial sectors. Brief update of trends & prospects in the international & major domestic financial markets.
-
Nation's Restaurant NewsEmphasizes timely news & in-depth analysis that shape the foodservice marketplace & pinpoint emerging trends.