Different Search Tools and their Definitions

What is a database?

A database is a collection of information that is organized for storage and retrieval by a computer. It can be on a specific subject such as a Health Sciences database or contain one type of material such as an eBooks or articles. 

What is a search engine?​

It is what we use to search the entire world wide web/ internet -- a sea of entertainment, news, social networking and information of all kinds.  Whether you prefer Google, Bing or Yahoo -- you probably use a search engine every single day.​

Photo by John Schnobrich from Unsplash

Different Search Tools: Different Content with Some Overlaps

Library Database  ​

• Scholarly, Academic and Professional Literature ​

• Free materials in a library collection such as News articles, Videos, etc. (Subscription materials)​

•  Searching a collection of free materials

Popular Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Duck Duck Go)​

• News Articles (May or may not be free)​

• Commercial websites (Vendors, products)​

• Public/ Private Organizations websites​

• Searching the internet

Overlap of content: Article found Online Versus on the US Newsstream database platforms

Same text content in each but different presentations. Articles found when browsing or searching the internet may require a subscription/limit your access and not be freely available. 

• Article found via Google: Gorner, J., Sweeney, A., & Sobol, R. (2021, Sep 26). One gun, 27 shootings: Weapon stolen from small wisconsin shop linked to string of chicago violence. Chicago Tribune www.chicagotribune.com/news/criminal-justice/ct-stolen-gun-multiple-crimes-chicago-20210921-aiqhedigtnhrbnikogk26vgdcu-story.html
• Article found via US Newsstream:  Gorner, J., Sweeney, A., & Sobol, R. (2021, Sep 26). One gun, 27 shootings: Weapon stolen from small wisconsin shop linked to string of chicago violence. btclibraryproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/blogs-podcasts-websites/gun-was-stolen-small-shop-wisconsin-officials/docview/2576372646/se-2?accountid=9126

Different Search Tools Functionality

Popular Search Engines (Google, Yahoo, Duck Duck Go and more)​ Search Functionality: 

•  Search results ranked based on popularity (measured by the number of links to and on the site and clicks)  ​

•  Your previous search history ​

•  Your profile (demographics, race, age) / location​

• The device/platform you use to search​

• Paid promotion​

Library Research Databases 

•  Search results ranked based on relevance to your search terms (based on content, subject terms, title and more)​

• Narrow results to a specific subject /field / Material type​

• Automatic Citation