BTC Library
Automation Systems Technology and Automation Technician
Library Services
------------------------------
Welcome! What You Can Use this Guide For
This Library Guide is for students in the Automation Systems Technology and Automation Technician program. If you're new to research, finding free books, articles or other library resources relevant to your program, this guide will help.
- To search the entire library collection, enter a search in the Library Search
- To find articles, search in the recommended databases listed below
- To find books, review recommended eBooks
- Review recommended professional associations and websites
- Click on 'the Ask Us' slide out for live 24/7 research and library help
On the menu tabs to the left, find additional support including the Library Home tab for how-to tutorials and the Learning Center Tutoring tab for information on getting help with your assignments.
Recommended Library Databases
-
Chilton Library (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
OEM repair, maintenance, and service information on most cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs. Provides step-by-step procedures, diagnostic and troubleshooting help, and a video library.
-
Career and Technical Education (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Career & Technical Education Database is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 790 titles, with more than 700 available in full text of trade journals, scholarly journals and magazines. Research any technical topic, including computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography. Agricultural Research, Computer Technology Review, Law & Order, Nutrition and Food Science, and Printed Circuit Design are just a few of the titles available in the Career & Technical Education Database.
-
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database covering computing, technology and engineering disciplines
-
eBook Central Career and Technical Education Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Read entire books and textbooks online for a wide range of career and technical education subject areas and some classic fiction. You can add favorites to your Bookshelf, search within texts to find the key terms you need, and highlight the text. You can also download or print out individual pages or chapters.
-
Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and professional articles in nearly every field including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences and psychology.
Recommended eBooks
Recommended Manufacturing and Transportation Professional Websites
-
American Trucking AssociationsATA is a 86-year old federation with state trucking association affiliates in all 50 states. With representation from every sector of the industry, from LTL to truckload, agriculture and livestock to auto haulers, and from large motor carriers to small mom-and-pop operations.
-
AutoInc.The mission of AutoInc., the Automotive Service Association's official publication, is to be the informational authority for ASA and industry members nationwide. Its purpose is to enhance the professionalism of these members through management, technical and legislative articles, researched and written with the highest regard for accuracy, quality and integrity.
-
Brake & Front EndFounded in 1931, this publication targets high-volume repair shops that derive a majority of their revenue from under-the-car repairs.
-
OverDrive Online MagazineCoverage on issues within trucking.
-
EdmundsEdmunds Inc. publishes three Web sites that empower, engage and educate automotive consumers, enthusiasts and insiders. Their web sites consist of Edmunds.com (launched in 1995 as the first automotive information web site), Inside Line (launched in 2005 and the most-read automotive enthusiast Web site) and AutoObserver.com (launched in 2007 to provide automotive industry commentary and analysis).
-
Auto: How Stuff WorksFrom car engines to search engines, from cell phones to stem cells, and thousands of subjects in between, HowStuffWorks has it covered. No topic is too big or too small for our expert editorial staff to unmask ... or for you to understand. (Owned by the Discovery Communications)
-
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration - Vehicle Testing & Safety.Research performed covers the areas of Crash Avoidance, Crash Worthiness, and Biomechanics. These research and development activities produce safer vehicles through improved vehicle performance, improved occupant protection systems, improved structural integrity of vehicles, increased understanding of driver behavior, and the use of intelligent systems to enhance drivers' ability to avoid crashes and travel safely.
-
International Automotive Technicians' Networkhe group's stated mission is to "promote the continued growth, success and image of the professional automotive technician by providing a forum for the exchange of knowledge and the promotion of education, professionalism, and integrity."