BTC Library
Laboratory Food Science Technician Program
Library resources for the lab food science technician
Profile
Madeleine Pitsch
She/Her
Contact:
Library Help Desk in the Student Success Center (Room 2200) | Central Campus | 6004 S County Road G, Janesville, WI 53546 |
------------------------------
------------------------------
1-608-757-7705
Website
Recommended Science Databases: Find Articles and Statistics
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL stands for Cumulated Index in Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL Complete provides indexing of over 3,800 top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Literature indexed in CINAHL covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and summarized evidence-based resources such as care sheets and quick lessons.
- Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowThis database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books, case studies and more.
- PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 14 million citations in MEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. For college-level and adult researchers.
Recommended Lab Food Science eBooks
Food Studies Streaming Video
- Alexander Street Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online is a first-of-its-kind database. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.
Recommended Journals
- Food Additives & ContaminantsPublishes research on natural and man-made additives and contaminants in food, including pesticide, environmental contaminants, plant toxins and mycotoxins.
- US Food & Drug Administration Laboratory Methods (Food)Listed below are resources containing some of the analytical laboratory methods used by FDA to help ensure food safety. These methods may be utilized by the food industry as well. The information is divided into three sections, a chemical methods resource section, a microbiological and biological methods resource section, and a macroanalytical methods resources section. Within each section there may be multiple manuals/collections of methods and some methods may appear in more than one manual/collection. Links to methods that FDA utilizes, but that have not yet been incorporated into an official FDA manual/collection are also provided.