BTC Library
A-Z Databases
Choose from the databases listed below to start your search.
The most frequently-used databases
This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile provides access to nearly 14,000 academic and scholarly journals, periodicals, newspapers, reference books, and multimedia sources, along with over 200,000 images, 3,300 audio files, and thousands of videos. Easily view content of interest, find content on nearly any subject including physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature.
Scholarly and professional articles in nearly every field including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences and psychology.
Search Blackhawk Technical College Library physical items and online materials including eBooks, streaming feature films and documentaries.
The Career & Technical Education Database is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 790 titles, with more than 700 available in full text of trade journals, scholarly journals and magazines. Research any technical topic, including computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography. Agricultural Research, Computer Technology Review, Law & Order, Nutrition and Food Science, and Printed Circuit Design are just a few of the titles available in the Career & Technical Education Database.
This link opens in a new window
Read entire books and textbooks online for a wide range of career and technical education subject areas and some classic fiction. You can add favorites to your Bookshelf, search within texts to find the key terms you need, and highlight the text. You can also download or print out individual pages or chapters.
Libby/Overdrive Academic eBook collection has popular fiction, self-help and career guide books and audiobooks. You can borrow them in the Libby app or in your internet browser like a regular library book.
To read eBooks/listen to audiobooks, sign in:
Click on Sign In
Select Library: Blackhawk Technical College
Card Number: your student/staff 9-digit ID number.
Use the free mobile Libby apps for both iPhones, Google, and smart phones, but the best viewing can also be done by reading in the browser screen. Any bookmarks, notes, etc. will be saved for the next time you login to read a borrowed book.
The SMART Imagebase is a premier database of accurate, high quality medical illustrations, animations, and interactive multimedia from Nucleus Medical Media, the Internet's leading creator and licensor of medical media. The collection contains thousands of proprietary, copyrighted images depicting normal anatomy, physiology, embryology, and histology, as well as the Web's largest repository of reference illustrations depicting surgery, trauma, pathology, diseases and conditions. The SMART Imagebase is a unique, educational resource for students, educators, library patrons, and professionals in healthcare and news media.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Learning resource collection tailored to the unique needs of PreK-2 students and educators.
OEM repair, maintenance, and service information on most cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs. Provides step-by-step procedures, diagnostic and troubleshooting help, and a video library.
Magazines, recipes, and videos with "how-to" instructions and creative do-it-yourself ideas.
Magazines & reference books on home improvement and repair project topics.
Resources presenting multiple sides of an issue to help assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills. For high school and adult learners.